Members

Home

Officers

Members

Join BACL

Colloquium

External Events

Links

Contact us

We are beginning to add details of current members below, and will be contacting members soon to provide their details.  If you are a member and you would like to add your details now, please contact Rachael-Anne Knight.

Name

Institution 

 Relevant Interests 

Contact details

Dr. Sally Bates

University College Plymouth St. Mark & St. John

phonetics and phonology; syntax; specific speech impairments; SLI

T:  01752 636 700 ext. 3032

E: sbates@marjon.ac.uk

Ms. Sarah Beazley

University of Manchester

clinical phonetics; working with deaf people

T:  0161 275 3374

E: sarah.beazley@manchester.ac.uk

W: http://www.manchester.ac.uk/research/sarah.beazley/

Dr. Richard Body

University of Sheffield

cognitive-linguistic assessment in traumatic brain injury; conversation ability in traumatic brain injury; clinical ethics in speech and language therapy

T:  0114 222 2415

E: r.body@sheffield.ac.uk 

W: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/hcs/staff/body

Dr. Ann Clark   

Queen Margaret University College

E: AClark@qmu.ac.uk 

Dr. Joanne Cleland

Queen Margaret University

speech sound disorders

T:  0131 474 0000

E: jcleland@qmu.ac.uk

Pip Cornelius

De Montfort University

learning and teaching phonetics

T:  0116 257 7830

E: pcornelius@dmu.ac.uk

Dr. Ian Crookston

Leeds Metropolitan University

T:  0113 812 3886

E: i.crookston@leedsmet.ac.uk

Miss Emma Hayward

University of Reading

E: emma_hayward100@hotmail.com

Dr. Anne Hesketh

University of Manchester

phonology; syntax

T:  0161 275 3375

E: anne.hesketh@manchester.ac.uk

Dr. Sara Howard

University of Sheffield

clinical phonetics and phonology; phonetic transcription; electropalatography; speech development; conversation and interaction

T:  0114 222 2448

E: s.howard@sheffield.ac.uk

W: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/hcs/staff/howard

Dr. Ghada Khattab

Newcastle University

phonetics; bilingualism; L2 phonology

T:  0191 222 6583

E: ghada.khattab@ncl.ac.uk

Dr. Rachael-Anne Knight 

City University London

prosody; rhotics; teaching and learning of phonetic transcription; perceptual learning of accent and speaker characteristics

T: 020 7040 8081

E: knight@city.ac.uk

W: http://www.rachaelanne.net

Dr. Anja Kuschmann

Strathclyde University

prosody and intonation; prosodic annotation of normal and disordered speech; foreign accent syndrome; intonation in bilingualism

E: anja.kuschmann@strath.ac.uk

Dr. Jacqueline Laws

University of Reading

morphology; argument structure; first language acquisition

T:  0118 378 7460

E: j.v.laws@reading.ac.uk

W: http://www.reading.ac.uk/AcaDepts/ll/app_ling/internal/j-v-laws.htm

Miss Ourania Mantzouki

Leeds Metropolitan University

bilingualism in the clinical setting; acquired disorders; cerebral palsy; Down Syndrome

E: rmantzoukis@gmail.com

Dr. Robert Mayr

University of Wales Institute, Cardiff

phonological development in bilingual children and adults; phonological disorders

T:  0292 041 7266

E: rmayr@uwic.ac.uk

W: http://www3.uwic.ac.uk/english/health/slt/people/pages/rmayr.aspx

Dr. Matthew Moreland

University of Reading

clinical phonetics and phonology; phonotactics

E: m.l.moreland@reading.ac.uk

Dr. Alison Murray

University of Wales Institute, Cardiff

clinical phonology; phonetics

T:  0292 041 7290

E: amurray@uwic.ac.uk

Dr. Helen Pandeli

University of Wales Institute, Cardiff

phonetics

T:  0292 041 6886

E: hpandeli@uwic.ac.uk

W: http://www3.uwic.ac.uk/english/health/slt/people/pages/hpandeli.aspx

Professor Mick Perkins

University of Sheffield

pragmatics; cognition; semantics; social interaction; conversation analysis; history of clinical linguistics

T:  0114 222 2408

E: m.perkins@sheffield.ac.uk

W: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/hcs/staff/perkins

Dr. Nick Riches

University of Newcastle

SLI; autism; syntax; word-learning

T:  0191 222 8720

E: nick.riches@ncl.ac.uk

W: http://www.ncl.ac.uk/ecls/staff/profile/nick.riches

Dr. Elke Philburn

University of Manchester

instrumental and experimental phonetics; non-modal phonation in connected speech and its instrumental analysis

T:  0161 368 1770

E: elke.philburn@manchester.ac.uk

W: http://personalpages.manchester.ac.uk/staff/elke.philburn

Dr. Ben Rutter

University of Sheffield

clinical linguistics; phonetics; language acquisition; motor speech disorders

T:  0114 222 2413

E: b.rutter@sheffield.ac.uk

W: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/hcs/staff/rutter

Dr. Christos Salis

University of Reading

aphasia; dementia, syntax; conversation

T:  0118 378 7467

E: c.salis@reading.ac.uk

W: http://www.reading.ac.uk/pcls/people/c-salis.aspx

Dr. Hannah Sowden

Newcastle University

co-speech gesture; developmental disorders

T:  0191 222 5224

E: Hannah.sowden@ncl.ac.uk

Mrs Julia Stewart

University College Plymouth St. Mark & St. John

SLI; child language development; phonological disorders; CAS

T:  01752 636 700 ext. 5644

E: jstewart@marjon.ac.uk

Dr. Vesna Stojanovik 

University of Reading   

linguistic abilities in Williams Syndrome; SLI; dyslexia; theoretical debates on issues of language acquisition and language evolution

T:  0118 378 7456

E: v.stojanovik@reading.ac.uk

W: http://www.reading.ac.uk/pcls/people/v-stojanovik.aspx

 

Dr. Claire Timmins

Queen Margaret University College

University of Strathclyde 

speech disorders in Down's syndrome; electropalatographic analysis of normal and disordered speech; accent change in Glaswegian; the influence of the media on accent change

E: ctimmins@qmuc.ac.uk

Dr. Nicole Whitworth

Leeds Metropolitan University

clinical phonetics and phonology; phonetics of voice; anatomy & physiology of speaking and hearing; bilingual and monolingual language acquisition

E: N.Whitworth@leedsmet.ac.uk

W: http://www.leedsmet.ac.uk/hss/subject_groups_...

Dr. Fay Windsor

Manchester Metropolitan University

phonetics

T:  0161 247 2355

E: f.windsor@mmu.ac.uk

W: http://www.rihsc.mmu.ac.uk/staff/profile.php?surname=Windsor&name=Fay

Page last updated 16 January 2014